My favourite makeup products!

AYYYYY! It’s me, actually writing a blog post for once! Dunno what’s got into me, haha!

Anyway, if you’ve been following me on Twitter for a while, you may have seen that I tweeted a little poll back in late March regarding doing a little post about my makeup collection:

Since most people who replied to that poll said ‘Yes please!’ to that idea, I then followed it up with this tweet:

In response, most people said they would prefer a sort of ‘makeup favourites’ style post, so that’s what I have for you today! Now, obviously I am not a beauty blogger, and I don’t know that many technical terms for things, so you’ll have to bear with me in that aspect, but hopefully this should be a fun post all the same! All the products featured in this post are under £20, and most are under £10, so I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for some good budget beauty buys! I have included the price for each product and links for where to purchase it.

Now, onto the post!


Disclaimer: any opinions in this post are just mine, as obviously I can’t speak for everyone when it comes to what products work best! I am also not getting paid to write any of this – even if I wish I could be, haha – so you can be assured that I’m being totally honest here! 🙂

P1040079
All the products featured in this post

Face:

P1040097.JPG
Face products

L’Oréal Paris Infallible Matte Foundation – 10 Porcelain – £7.99

As someone with incredibly pale and oily skin, I really do struggle when it comes to finding makeup that does actually work for me, particularly foundations. Seeing as most ‘drugstore’ brands don’t go light enough for me, I was incredibly happy to find this foundation which is practically perfect for my skin type. I apply it with the sponge featured in the picture above and it gives such a nice finish to my face. It’s really smoothing and
doesn’t look really weird over the gigantic pores on my nose, which I really like!. The fact that it’s mattifying means it works well with my oily skin, and, whilst I wouldn’t necessarily say it lasts 24 hours like it claims to, it does a pretty good job of not melting off or making me overly oily throughout the day. The foundation doesn’t feel cakey either, which is always a big plus!

In the swatch below, it looks slightly darker than normal as my face is a little bit darker than the underside of my arm, but you can see it is a good match.

P1040110
Swatches in shade 10 Porcelain – L to R: unblended, blended with fingers

L’Oréal’s website has links to multiple places you can purchase this foundation.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder – 001 Transparent – £3.99

This is the product that I use the most out of all the products on this list, as can be seen in the photo by the fact that I’ve ‘hit pan’ as you might say! Again, it’s a mattifying product to help control oil, and it does a really good job. I wear this powder on its own most days, and don’t tend to get properly oily for the entire day (even if I apply it at about 7:20 in a morning!), and it works well over makeup too! Even though it’s supposed to be transparent, I feel like it does smooth out the look of my skin a little bit more than if I don’t put anything on, which I like.

Rimmel’s website has links to multiple places you can purchase this powder.

Avon Precision Make-up Sponge – £6.50

If you use liquid makeup products, it’s fairly likely that you will have come across one of these little egg-shaped sponges at some point in your life. This is yet another dupe for the more expensive Beauty Blender sponge, which I think was on offer when I bought it. Like I said before, I use it slightly damp to apply my foundation and it does a really nice job of blending it out and giving a fairly ‘natural’ finish (as natural as possible with a matte foundation) and it’s also just really cute and fun! It’s basically a little, bouncy, spongy egg that you dab on your skin – what more could you want? I think I got mine on offer too, which is always a bonus!

Get it from Avon’s website here or find it in a catalogue.

The Body Shop Face & Body Brush – £16.00

This is the most expensive item on this list, but my word is it worth it! The Body Shop brushes are always SO. FLIPPING. SOFT. and omg I just love it so much! I use this to apply various things, like powder, bronzer, and sometimes even blush, as the shape is just so versatile! And again, can I just reiterate how soft this thing is. Basically I love it. A lot. 😁

Find it on The Body Shop’s website here.

Eyes:

P1040084.JPG
Eye products

Makeup Revolution Redemption Palette Essential Mattes 2 – £4.00

P1040087.JPG

Before I bought this palette, I had heard some good things about Makeup Revolution’s eyeshadow palettes, but I had no idea they would be this cheap! There are 12 neutral matte shades in this palette, and IT’S FOUR POUNDS!! I am so glad I ordered this palette as the shadows are great quality, especially for the price, plus I have a shade in there which works well for my eyebrows (if I apply it fairly lightly). I also used to use one of the shades as contour and it worked surprisingly well! The shadows are very pigmented, as can be seen in the picture below. My one complaint is that the very lightest shadow is basically the same colour as my skin, but that’s not hard considering how pale I am, so who am I to complain? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ It does also come with a double-ended spongy thingy, which I don’t tend to use but it’s still nice to have just in case.

P1040107.JPG
Top to bottom: (L to R in palette) shades 10 (my eyebrow colour), 6 (my old contour shade), and 1, swatched with sponge applicator.

Get it from Makeup Revolution’s website here or from Superdrug here.

Makeup Revolution Fortune Favours the Brave eyeshadow palette – £9.99

Ok, so I’m a little bit in love with this palette, but I can’t help it when it’s just so gorgeous! There are 30 shadows in the Fortune Favours the Brave palette, which means that there is probably at least one or two that will suit most people, and there is a good mix of mattes, shimmers, slightly-shimmery-but-not-too-much, and even merged shades, which I haven’t seen in an eyeshadow palette together before (although I don’t own that many palettes compared to some people)! What’s more, the palette comes with a brush rather than a weird spongy thing, and whilst it’s not the greatest thing in the world, it does do a fair job; it has one flat end and one fluffy end as well! I swatched two of each type of shade – one darker and one fairly light – to try and show the range of shades, but there are blues, greens, purples, golds, pinks and neutrals to go at so it was hard to choose which ones to swatch! Some of the lighter shades and shimmers can be a bit sheer, but they are also very buildable, so it’s not too much of a problem.

2
Swatches: Bottom left – L to R: Glimmer, Buffer, New World and Pink Diamond; Bottom right – L to R: Brave, Drama Queen, Super Gold and Sunset Hour – swatched with fingers.

Find it on Makeup Revolution’s website here and Superdrug here.

Avon Super Extend Winged Out Mascara – Blackest Black – £8.50

Before I bought this, I was a little hesitant as I thought it might be a liiiiittle expensive for a mascara, so I did wait until it was on offer, and I am glad I got it in the end! This mascara really does stay true to its name, and really ‘wings out’ my eyelashes! It’s supposed to have little fibres in the formula which help to lengthen your lashes, and I find it doesn’t clump too much unless I accidentally apply a ridiculous amount, although it is fairly easy to separate with a lash comb if that does happen. It’s long-lasting and doesn’t flake off during the day, although I don’t know whether it’s water/sweat/cry-proof, so I can’t help there! Below is what it looks like on my (top) lashes; excuse my messy eyebrow and oddly-blue eye area!

Get it from Avon’s website here or find it in a catalogue.

Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner – Black – £2.99

Now, most people who know me will know that I absolutely love eyeliner. This was actually the very first liquid eyeliner I ever used, and after using two others and then repurchasing this one, I can definitely say it is a real favourite of mine. For the price, you might not expect much, but oh my word will you be mistaken! True to its name, this eyeliner is extremely long lasting, and really doesn’t budge at all during the day. The tip is tapered which means that you can get either a really precise line or quite a thick one, which I really like, and it is ridiculously pigmented. I like this a lot more than other, more expensive eyeliners that I’ve used, and considering it’s less than £3 it really is very impressive! I find that the only downside to this is that I do really have to scrub my eyes with a makeup wipe to actually get it off due to the fact that it is so long lasting, but considering all the good points it doesn’t really bother me that much. Sadly, I don’t have swatches for this one, but I’m pretty sure if you search it up you’ll find something! (NOTE: according to Collection’s website, this is not suitable for contact lens wearers, apparently)

Collection’s website has links to multiple places you can purchase this.

Avon  eyeshadow blending brush – £5.00

This brush isn’t necessarily anything particularly special, but it does work well to blend out eyeshadow and it’s probably one of my most used brushes. It’s really soft and hasn’t shed even after using and washing it so many times, and I’m actually considering buying another one s that I can use one to apply colours and one to blend (or just be lazy and not have to wash one for a while)!

Get it from Avon’s website here or find it in a catalogue.

Lips:

Avon Perfectly Matte Lipstick – Red Supreme – £8.00

P1040103.JPG

Where do I begin with this lipstick? I love it so much! First off, the colour is gorgeous, and it is incredibly pigmented. It doesn’t wear off easily throughout the day (I can eat and drink with this on and it’s still there) which is really great, and it does give a finish that is very much matte. It also smells really nice and the packaging looks really professional and expensive, which are always bonuses! I actually haven’t used this lipstick yet as I originally got this shade (along with another, shown below) as samples before Avon released the full-sized ones, so I’m saving this one until I run out of my mini one! The one downside to this is that it can be quite drying after a long time, but I always kind of expect that from matte lipsticks anyway, and it’s not too bad if you put a lip balm underneath it.

P1040105.JPG
Left: Red Supreme, Right: Pure Pink

As you can probably see from the swatch, Red Supreme is quite a dark red – a bit darker than what I’d usually go for – but I just really love how it looks against my ghostly-pale skin. Kinda vampy, but not overly so, you know?

IMG_3635
Red Supreme on my lips (I think this was around mid-day so you can see it stays well)

Get it from Avon’s website here or find it in a catalogue.


Well, that’s it for my little most-used/ favourites list! Let me know in the comments if you enjoyed it and if you might like to see more of this sort of post in the future! I’d also love to know any of your favourite makeup products, or what you think of any on my list if you’ve tried them!

Byeeeee!

xx Elly xx

8 thoughts on “My favourite makeup products!

  1. Ooooh I loved this!! I usually stick to high end eyeshadows because I have oily eyelids (very weird I know) and they’re the only ones that don’t seem to wear of throughout the day – I’m gonna have to give Makeup Revolutions a try, I have heard amazing things about them!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Awww, it shouldn’t take too long! Funnily enough, my eye primer is also from Makeup Revolution (it’s their Aqua Seal one) and it works really well!

          Like

  2. Okay, I seriously need to check out that Makeup Revolution eyeshadow palette. *nods* I have a neutrals one from MUA, but basically all of them are glittery. I’ve been attempting some liquid liner recently but I still have a long way to go! SOMEDAY I SHALL MASTER IT. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ONE DAY YOU SHALL MASTER IT! It took me ages, but I’m alright at it now; I find the pens much easier than other ones! And Makeup Revolution have loads of eyeshadows both in palettes and not, and they’re all quite cheap! x

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

