Top Ten hyped books I haven’t actually read yet (oops!)

Hi!

It’s Tuesday, which means it’s Top Ten Tuesday time!  Because I haven’t done it for two weeks, it’ll be nice to get back into the habit, and this week’s theme seems like a fun one!


If you didn’t know already, Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more info and maybe you could have a go yourself if you don’t already!

The theme for this week is ‘Top Ten hyped books I’ve never read’ which is quite convenient for me as I haven’t read a lot of hyped books, especially not recently, so I hopefully shouldn’t struggle to get 10!  Anyway, let’s get on with it before I bore you with my endless rambling before the actual post!

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I have said about not having read these before and you haven’t killed me yet, but still: PLEASE DON’T KILL ME FOR NOT READING THESE!  I have them..

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I’m pretty sure that most people in my class have read this.  Mainly because they’re all like: “READ THIS NOW!”

3. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

One of my friends read this recently and I have seen so much love for it on other blogs!  I need to read it.

4. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

I know this series is quite old now, but I still feel like I should read it.  (I also saw part of one of the films and thought it was hilarious sooooooo…)

5. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Another one that I’ve (well, my family has) got but haven’t read!

6. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Same as above, except these are MINE 😛

7. Paper Towns by John Green

ANOTHER John Green book that people in my class are obsessing over.  The film trailer looks amazing as well!

8. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I saw the first film but couldn’t really concentrate and got confused.  Perhaps reading the book might help?

9. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

DO NOT KILL ME BECAUSE I HAVEN’T READ THESE OK?!?!

10. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

It’s mainly my mum who wants me to read these, but I am enjoying the films so I guess the books are worth a shot too!  Also, I reeeeeeeaaaaaally don’t get the Harry Potter/Twilight rivalry.  They’re completely different stories, ok?!


Anyway, that’s my list!  As always, feel free to leave a link to your own post in the comments and let me know what you think of mine! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

xx Elly xx

 

22 thoughts on “Top Ten hyped books I haven’t actually read yet (oops!)

    1. Haha, my friends keep pestering me to read them as well! And the collecting books problem is serious. Like, how are we even expected to read ALL THE BOOKS, even if we have bought them? 😝
      Thanks for commenting! I’ll be sure to check out your post sometime soon! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Do read The Raven Boys. I know some people found the story slow-paced and kind of dull in the beginning which is true.HAHA But it definitely does get better! You’ll really like the characters. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Hunger Games is pretty good, TFiOS I didn’t like, The Raven Boys and The Princess Diaries I’ve never read (Raven Boys was on my list, too), The Hobbit was amazing, Divergent was not my favorite, Paper Towns… see TFiOS, The Mortal Instruments I haven’t read, Percy Jackson is no longer my favorite, and I’ve never read Twilight.
    TTT is fun! This week was my first time, but I should have started earlier! There are so many hyped books I’ve not yet read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, your first week? That’s cool! I hope you enjoy doing it!
      Obviously, it’s a matter of opinion with books; if you like that sort of thing, great, and if not, that’s also fine!
      Thanks for commenting! xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, she read it ages ago and has been like, “You need to read Twilight!” whilst I’ve been like, “You need to read Harry Potter!” Basically we’ve just been nagging each other 😝
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

        1. Well, my mum has already started reading Harry Potter, and I do plan to read Twilight at some point as I have been enjoying the films so far, so I guess we’ve both caved in?

          Like

  3. I think I didn’t like TFIOS because I read it just before the film came out and I already knew what happened so I felt it was a bit over-hyped… I think I’d have preferred it if I read it when it first came out but I guess that’s just bad timing! I think you’ll definitely love the Percy Jackson books though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm, that’s a shame! But you can’t help when films are released, unfortunately.
      Everyone tells me that Percy Jackson is amazing, so those books are certainly fairly near the top of my TBR!
      Thanks for commenting! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Twilight is satisfactory. But personally, I think Harry Potter is better because Twilight kinda emphasizes the importance of having a boyf so much. And FYI, the rivalry happened when JKR finished the Harry Potter series and wanted to take a break. However, the readers were getting bored and wanted more. Then suddenly Twilight came around, and then they’d been starved of Harry Potter, so they started praising Meyer as the new JKR. But some Potterheads didn’t like that, so…yeah.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

