I wrote a short story!

Hello!

I wrote this story for English a little while ago and thought I’d share it with you!  It’s inspired by the catacombs in Paris.  Let me know what you think in the comments!


I stumble into what I think, at first, is just any old cave, breathing heavily.  Surely they won’t find me here; surely an abandoned cave would be the last place they would look.  Right?

I run further into the hollow cavern to make sure that I can’t be seen on entering, finally stopping for breath.  Suddenly, I realise that I don’t actually know where I am, so decide I should look around in the hope that I might decipher this little mystery.  Looking to my left, I see a wall.  At a first glance, it just looks like any wall might, made of what looks like stone, just slightly cracked.  When I look again, I realise that there are a line of skulls.  I jump back in fright, only to be met by yet more of these hollow faces.  I reach up so that my hand is level with them, soldier-like in their formation, and touch one with the tip of my fingers.  The ancient bone is worn, yet oddly smooth in places and pointed where a nose once lay.

Around the lined up skulls is a jigsaw of either stone or bone; I can’t decide which.  I think I smell something, so inhale deeply through my nose.  Sure enough, there is something lingering in the air.  The smell of death, perhaps?  Or maybe something else; something more sinister than I could ever imagine.  It’s quite unnerving really, being surrounded by all these skulls.  I feel like they’re watching me, even though they have no eyes.  I try to reassure myself with the latter and start to focus on looking for a way out that isn’t back the way I came.  The soldiers could be anywhere and the last thing I want in here is to bump into them.

Focusing my mind on the task at hand – getting out of this place, and quickly at that – I run in the opposite direction to where I came in until I come to a wall.  There’s a path either side of me; both look fairly dark and eerie, lined with yet more bones and hollow, expressionless skulls.  In a hurry, I decide to go right.  If in doubt, go right; that’s what I always say to myself and, so far, it’s turned out fairly well.

I carry on running until my legs are weak and I have a stitch in my side, desperately trying to find a way out of this seemingly never-ending maze of lost souls.  When I stop to catch my breath, I wonder if I am alone in this place.  It seems almost too eerie to be real, like it’s a figure of someone’s imagination; someone who is very good at world-building.  I hope for my own sake that I am dreaming, and that I will wake up to find myself back in my home without fear of soldiers chasing me.  What did I do to deserve this anyway?  But those men are ruthless killing machines.  They don’t care who I am.

Eventually, I collapse in a heap on the stone-cold floor.  My legs are tired, my throat is dry and I am surrounded by darkness.  I think I hear something – maybe footsteps, I’m too tired to know – and know that I can do no more.  They’ve found me.


xx Elly xx

(I do not own the image at the top of this post!)

16 thoughts on “I wrote a short story!

    1. Aww, thank you!! Unfortunately, it did just have to be a short story and I think (I’m not too sure) that the person died at the end…

      Thanks for commenting and being lovely!
      xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love Paris too!

      As for free photos, I have several websites that I tend to use; this photo was just one that I found on Google.

      Thanks for commenting! xx

      Like

  1. Now I want to know what happens before the start of the story…
    Have you finished your English final piece yet? I can’t wait to read it! 🙂
    (Just in case you wanted a random piece of information, my sister got the wrong your on my birthday card. I thought of you when I saw it. 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’m not actually too sure what happens, but obviously this person has somehow got in trouble with the soldiers!
      I still need to finish the final English thing, but in not sure when I will… 😳
      GAH! WRONG YOUR/YOU’RE!

      Thanks for commenting! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

