Top Ten Tuesday- In which I flail because I need to read ALL THE BOOKS

Hi, Badgers!

Welcome to this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post!  I hope that this week’s theme will be easier for me to get 10 things on, as I have struggled with that the past two times!


If you didn’t know already, Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Check out their blog for more info!  This week’s theme is “Top Ten Books On My TBR For Summer 2015”, which I think I won’t have much of a problem with as I kind of want/need to read ALL THE BOOKS.  I think I’m going to bend the rules a bit and just do books I have on my TBR, not necessarily summer reads.  Anyway, let’s get started!

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

IMG_1128

Yes, yes, I know, I know.  How can I not have read these already?  I mean, I have them…

But anyway, I definitely need to get round to reading these at some point, even though I know there’s A LOT of death involved, as I feel like I’m missing out a bit.  Loads of people that I know have read them, so I’ll be able to talk to them about the series after I read them!

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Although I’ve heard so many good things about this book, I still haven’t quite got round to reading it myself yet.  Needless to say, it will probably make me cry when I do, as a) I cry at (almost) everything and b) it’s about someone with cancer.  Need I say anymore?

3. Girl Online by Zoë Sugg

Since I love Zoë’s YouTube channel (Zoella), I feel like it’s only right that I read her book too!  I have actually read a little bit of this book at my friend’s house and really enjoyed it, so I’d definitely love to read the rest!

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

IMG_1133

I’ve been wanting to read The Hobbit for a while as I love fantasy books and know that it is a very popular one, but now I CAN ACTUALLY READ IT because my mum bought it the other day!  This resulted in a very happy me 🙂

Also, JUST LOOK AT THAT COVER!!! *flails*

5. Anne Frank’s Diary

I got this ages ago but haven’t read it yet.  I have also recently covered WW2 in History at school and, although what happened kind of upset me, I feel like it would be really interesting to read about what happened from the perspective of a young girl living at the time, particularly one who was part of the main group targeted!

(Side note: this is another one that will probably make me cry…)

6. Sweet Honey by Cathy Cassidy

I love Cathy Cassidy’s books, as I have said multiple times, but I particularly love her Chocolate Box Girls series and am very excited to read the fifth installment!  I have always found the character of Honey to be quite interesting and harder to understand, and think that it will be interesting to see how she thinks!

7. The rest of A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events is something that I have been reading in bits for a while now.  I think I have about 6 left to read now, and intend to finish them at some point! 🙂

8. The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

A while ago, one of my friends was reading this series and I thought it looked really interesting because secret agent stuff. I don’t think any more really needs to be said!

9. The Divergent series by Veronica Roth

Divergent just seems awesome.  I saw the trailer for the first film and thought “I NEED TO READ THAT!”  Also, loads of people seem really obsessed with this series, which seems like a good sign that I should read it! 🙂

10. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

The amount of people I have seen raving about this series makes me feel like i just HAVE to read it.  Like, they may just kill me if I don’t…

Plus, the books are fairytale re-tellings, and I don’t think I’ve ever read any before, so if I do end up reading them then it should be exciting and new!!


Yay!  I managed to get 10!

What books are on your TBR list?  Would you recommend any others to me?  Or have you read any books on my list?  Let me know in the comments!

As always, feel free to leave a link to your TTT post in the comments so I can take a look!

xx Elly xx

 

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- In which I flail because I need to read ALL THE BOOKS

  1. Nice list! I actually just re-read The Hobbit and reviewed it for my Summer Reading blog last weak. Fun read. I LOVED the Divergent trilogy. LOVED. I’m in the midst of finishing the Hunger Games books. My recommendation for your list is “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxly. It’s a great, thought provoking read. As for my own TBR…I have a stack of 20 books on my desk waiting for my attention, but the big beastie is Moby Dick. I love book blogs, so I am glad I found yours! Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you! Glad to know that you enjoyed these books; it makes me all the more anxious to read them!
      Good luck with your TBR; I have a mental one with masses and masses of books on which I should probably write down somewhere…

      Thanks for commenting! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I would go with calling The Hobbit a classic fantasy rather than a “popular fantasy book” (A) Just me nitpicking. And I totally agree with you: How can you not have read the Hunger Games yet 😄
    Happy summer reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YESSS YOU MUST READ ALL OF THESE!!! I love Divergent and the Lunar Chronicles and I adored TFIOS. Although it didn’t make me cry outright, but I cried on the inside, so that counts right?!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such an amazing list! Some of these take me back to middle school (series of unfortunate events) and I’m in the middle of Anne Frank’s diary right now (and have been for a while). The Gallagher Girls series one of my favorite series out there and she just came out with a new book called All Fall Down as well which was pretty amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks! It’s always nice to know that someone’s enjoyed something you’re planning to read, so thanks for letting me know!

      Thanks for commenting! xx

      Like

  5. Yeah, you need to read these books! The Hobbit is freaking amazing, so get on it! Haha! I love really love Divergent and The Hunger Games. I actually hated The Fault In Our Stars with a passion but most people love it so hopefully you will too!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

