A bit of my writing…

Hey!

I thought I would share part of the story I entered for NaNoWriMo last year, which I named ‘Your Secret’s Safe With Me’.  The first bit is basically an introduction to the character, and then there’s the first chapter.  Hope you enjoy!


 

Hi, I’m Sam.  Before you start reading, there’s one thing you should know about me: I’m not your average thirteen-year-old.  In fact, I don’t think there’s really anything that average about me, except perhaps my name and age.  Now, let me tell you a little more about myself:  My name is Samantha/Sam Evans, I’m thirteen years old, 5’4” tall, I have blue eyes and gingery-red hair, I can speak over 20 foreign languages, and…  Well, I could go on, but I don’t want to bore you with my rambling.

Anyway, enough about me.  It’s my story you probably came here for.  The weird thing about me is this: I lead a double life.  That’s it.  I told you.  But you mustn’t tell anyone, or bad things will happen, to me and to you.

Oh, and just to clarify, I’m twelve in this part of the story…

Chapter one- Tuesday

That Tuesday started out like any other Tuesday would for any other twelve year old in my community; I got up, got dressed, went downstairs for breakfast, and then set off on my way to school.  I met up with my friend, Danny, on the way.  Danny and I have been friends for as long as I can remember.  We have been in the same class since we both started kindergarten and lady luck was kind to us and we were never separated in school.  In fact, we were pretty much inseparable outside school as well; if we weren’t hanging out in town somewhere, we were texting, or, in some cases, on the phone to each other.  Sometimes our conversations via text or call would last for more than an hour, others just a few minutes.  Anyway, what I’m trying to say is, we’re best friends.  Always have been, always will be.

“Hey Sam!” shouted Danny from outside his house, as I ran up to meet him.

“Hey,” I replied.

“So, what’d you get up to last night?”

“Not much.  Miss Philips gave me extra Chemistry homework though, so I did some of that.”

“Why?”

“I don’t know.  She seems to have had something against me since that time I spilled that toxic chemical all over the floor.” I cringed, remembering that embarrassing time.

“Oh, yeah, I remember that time!” He laughed, “She’s always so grumpy.”  I looked at Daniel and pulled a silly face, with my nose and eyes screwed up and my tongue out.  He did it back to me and we both laughed.  It was the face we always pulled at each other when one of us teased the other.  Even though he annoyed me sometimes, he was still my best friend.

Before I knew it, we were at school. We had been walking so slowly that we only had five minutes to class, so we quickly ran to Mr. Stephens’ classroom.  We sat next to each other in our assigned seats and quickly got our equipment out.  Mr. Stephens, my English teacher, was probably one of my favorite teachers.  He was getting fairly old now, and was a bit forgetful at times, but he was nice.  Also, he sometimes gave us sweets and chocolate if we answered a question correctly.  I swear he’d probably give you something for spelling ‘cat’ right! He didn’t turn up until five minutes after class was supposed to start, but when he did, he simply said, “Hello, class!” with a cheerful look on his face, and sat down at his desk, ready to start the lesson.

The rest of the day went on; after English with Mr. Stephens, we had math with Mr. Porter, then lunch.  After that, we had RE with Mrs. Thomson, then PE with Miss Mason.  Overall, it wasn’t too bad a day, but the twist came later on…

I was on my way back home from school.  Danny had a club that day (football, I think.  Or was it chess?), so I had to walk home on my own.  Just as I passed one of the small back alleys, I heard a voice.  It was quiet and pretty hard to hear, but I could just pick out what it was saying.  The anonymous voice said, “Hello?”

“Hello?” I replied, confused and slightly scared.

The voice then said, “Are you Samantha Evans?”

“Erm… Yes?”

“Twelve years old?”

“Uh huh,” Now, looking back, I don’t even know why I even replied.  Honestly, the amount of times my mom had told me not to talk to strangers!  But I was panicked and not thinking straight.  So there.

“I need you to come with me.”  Said the voice, with a sense of urgency in its tone; and with that, a cloaked figure appeared out of the darkness.  “Hi, I’m Oliver Green.  You don’t know me, but boy do I know you!” Said the cloaked figure, and beckoned for me to come with him into the dark alleyway.  His last comment unnerved me slightly, but yet I went with him.  For some unknown reason, I felt like I should trust this mysterious man.


Okay, so it isn’t the most realistic of plots, but who cares about that?  I would love you to give me some (honest) feedback in the comments, and tell me if you want to see more of my writing! 🙂

xx Elly xx

 

3 thoughts on “A bit of my writing…

Share your thoughts :)

