Advent Challenge Day 18- Funny Christmas Poem!

So, I finally found that book I was looking for.  Well, my mum did…  But anyway, welcome to today’s post!

Here’s a poem by Jan Dean

Dear Santa

Please can I have an elephant?

We could keep it in the garage.

I will use my pocket money

To buy bales of straw.

Oh, please, please can I have an elephant?

No matter what my mum said.

She is good with animals

And I am sure she’ll be OK with it

Once the shock’s worn off.

I need this elephant.

I need to ride it down the street,

My legs tucked in behind its flapping ears.

I need to tie it to the railings outside school.

Please, please, dear Santa,

Let me have an elephant

Then everyone will want to sit with me

And share my stuff

And I will never have to be

The one left out.


I hope you enjoyed this poem as much as I do!  If you want, leave a comment telling me about one of your favourite Christmas poems and I will try to check it out! 🙂

xx Elly xx

P.S. Have you noticed my Christmas countdown?

Share your thoughts :)

