Advent Challenge Day 6- World Christmas Traditions

Wow!  I can’t believe I’ve nearly been doing this for a week now, and I’ve managed to do it every day!

Welcome to day 6, everybody!  Today, I am going to post about some unusual Christmas Traditions from various places in the world.  I looked on the internet and these are a few of my favourites:

  • In Austria, the Krampus, a devil-demon creature believed to hit children with branches, stalks the streets. Eep!
  • In Denmark, families leave rice pudding or porridge out for Nisse, a naughty elf. If they don’t, some of the children’s presents may be missing when they wake up because he will have stolen them!
  • In Finland, it is typical for families to eat porridge with an almond hidden in it. The one who finds the almond has to sing a song for the others.
  • In France, children put their shoes by the fire instead of stockings, so that Pere Noel (Father Christmas) will hopefully fill them with treats! Sometimes, he hangs nuts, fruits and other small items on the tree.
  • In India, families that celebrate Christmas decorate mango or banana trees.
  • In Oaxaca, Mexico, people break plates near to the cathedral. This is to signify the end of the year.
  • In Norway, households hide all brooms so that the witches that are believed to roam around on Christmas Eve can’t get them!
  • In Ukraine, families hide a spider web in their tree, and whoever finds it will have good luck. This is because of a Ukrainian legend.
  • In Germany, a pickle is hidden in the tree and the first child to find it receives a special present.

Now, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’m not sure I’d want to be in Austria around Christmas time, but I quite like the idea of hiding something special in the tree!

Thank you for reading my post, and please give me more suggestions for what else to do in my advent challenge, or I may have to stop on the 20th!

xx Elly xx

Share your thoughts :)

