The Hogwarts Houses and Stereotypes Part 1 (Gryffindor and Slytherin)

Before I start, this post (and part two) will probably be a bit longer than some of my other posts, but to be fair, my blog is called A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts (me being ‘a Hufflepuff’), and my thoughts are different.  Also, If you haven’t read ALL OF the books or seen ALL OF the films, you might not want to read this unless you like spoilers.  Anyway, let’s start…

As with most things in life, there are a lot of stereotypes and rumours about the four houses in Hogwarts.  But why do we have stereotypes, and why do they often alter our thinking without us consciously knowing?  Now, I’m pretty sure there is some scientific theory about this, and about how it’s probably biological or something, but I’m not a scientist and I don’t particularly fancy asking Google unless it is absolutely necessary.  Which it isn’t.  Obviously, the brain is very complicated and at least the majority of human beings (if not our whole race) don’t know a lot about how the brain works.

Being the Harry Potter obsessed person that I am, I felt the need to think (and write a post) about the stereotypes and rumours surrounding the four houses at Hogwarts.  Here are some of the main stereotypes briefly:

  • Gryffindors are the heroes and heroines of everything.
  • Slytherins are the evil masterminds.
  • Ravenclaws are stuck up (probably because of Lockhart says my friend).
  • Hufflepuffs are… well… boring.

Obviously, these are untrue for most people and some of them are really quite mean.  I will go into more detail on these stereotypes in this next section.

Gryffindor:

To be completely honest, I definitely see the reason behind the idea that Gryffindors are heroes.  I mean, the main character, his two best friends and his girlfriend are all in this house, so it doesn’t surprise me that most people seem to want to be too.  At least Gryffindor gets a good rep.  Sure, Gryffindor got loads of the good guys, but do you know who else they had?  Peter Pettigrew.  That’s right, the guy who framed Sirius Black.  He wasn’t a hero at all.

Overall, I don’t think it is fair to expect all Gryffindors to be heroes.  The qualities of Gryffindor are courage, daring, chivalry and nerve, which are obviously good in small quantities, but can cause someone to become big-headed or reckless if you’re not careful.

Slytherin:

Ah, Slytherin.  The house of evil masterminds.  Or is it?  I personally know plenty of lovely people who are members of Slytherin, and it makes me sad that anyone could hate them simply because of their house.  One of them is probably one of the sweetest people I’ve ever met, and gives me hugs a lot.  And I really like hugs.  Anyway, just because Slytherin has produced the most dark wizards out of the four houses, it doesn’t mean that all Slytherins are bad.  Yeah, Voldemort was a Slytherin, but he’s VOLDEMORT.  He’s meant to be the bad guy.  Even if he wasn’t in Slytherin, he’d still be the baddie.

Not all Slytherins are bad.  In fact, I think we need to give the good Sltyherins a bit more recognition.

And that’s the end of Part 1!  If you enjoyed this post, look out for part 2, where I will be looking at Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff!

xx Elly xx

3 thoughts on “The Hogwarts Houses and Stereotypes Part 1 (Gryffindor and Slytherin)

Share your thoughts :)

